Narrowing My MBA Concentration

It’s definitely been a while since my last post (2 weeks!) and the semester was catching up to me.  But things are winding down (finals are next week) and I found time to write a new post.  This one will be short, and in honor of the end of school year I’m exploring a topic I need to address before next fall.

During orientation I declared an MBA concentration.  I chose finance, mainly because my undergraduate degree was Business Finance.  But over the course of the year second thoughts crept into my mind about that decision.  CSUF offers a large variety of MBA concentrations, so I’m definitely not limited in my degree’s focus.  The available concentrations include:

  • Accounting
  • Business Intelligence
  • Economics
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Finance
  • General (MBA)
  • Information Systems
  • International Business
  • Management
  • Management Science
  • Marketing
  • Risk Management and Insurance

I’ve started reevaluating the Finance concentration based on my skills, experiences, and interest in the courses offered for each option.  I’m not sure what the best approach is to selecting a concentration.  Currently I’m interested in Entrepreneurship, General (MBA), Management and Marketing.  I may choose a specific concentration, or perhaps my curiosity and broad interests will convince me to select the General MBA.  I fully expect I will make the right decision for myself, but until I spend time researching, evaluating and pondering my options I’m going to feel anxious and nervous about this potential decision.  I’ll keep you posted on the status of my decision as I make progress with it.

What strategies and techniques help you weigh options when making a challenging decision?  Share your thoughts in the Comments section below.

Also, if anyone’s interested, I’ve added a photo into “My Story”.  I had to take a new head shot and decided to add it to my LinkedIn profile and this blog.

0 Responses to “Narrowing My MBA Concentration”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

