Doing Consulting Work While Earning My MBA

I’m two weeks into my third CSUF MBA semester, and this one is shaping up to be my most exciting and challenging yet.  The most exciting thing about this semester is that my classes are heavily exposing me to the business practices, techniques and tools I enrolled in the MBA program to learn.  And best of all, the courses will force me to apply my classroom education to actual business problems (which is something I’ve been looking forward too since before I enrolled).

I’ll be describing my courses in more detail throughout the semester, so this article will provide a brief overview of my first 2 weeks.  Based on the assignments I’ll be doing you can expect quite a bit of detail regarding the student consulting projects, so keep an eye out for those future posts.

Here a few initial thoughts about MGMT 540 – New Venture Leadership and Management:

  • The professor, Barbara Samara, has a lot of experience working in the private sector.  She worked for many years with IBM, and in certain capacities that had a very entrepreneurial flavor.  The coaches we are assigned for our consulting project (which I’ll talk about later) have extensive entrepreneurship backgrounds as well, and several of my classmates have started or managed their own businesses.  All this exposure to entrepreneurship will be great for learning the trials and tribulations of running one’s own business, and might even inspire me to start my own company!
  • In addition to the consulting projects, our assignments include case studies (which I’ve found are one of my favorite MBA classroom tools).  I love the spirited debates the students engage in, and it feels great to present a well-reasoned, astute point to the entire class.  These case studies will focus on leadership and entrepreneurship, which will differ from last semester’s focus on management and IT challenges.
  • Professor Samara recommends we watch Shark Tank each Friday night, which is perfect for me because I already make that my one show for regular weekly viewing.

Here are a few thoughts about my other course, MKTG 519 – Marketing Management:

  • Professor Kovacev has an interesting background.  He has a physics degree and worked in the defense industry most of his life.  He’s also been teaching for several decades, and has lots of experience preparing undergraduate and MBA students for careers in business.
  • I was nominated by the professor to be our consulting project team leader (I think it might have something to do with being the tallest member of our group; I stand out among everyone).  I don’t have any professional management experience, so I’m looking forward to the challenge of coordinating our project objectives with 9 other people and ensuring we complete a fantastic consulting assignment for our client.

Which brings me to the consulting projects.  I have one in each class, and I’m starting to realize how intense the assignments will be.  Orange County businesses can hire CSUF students as consultants to help them solve business problems they’re facing or explore new business opportunities.  Each project will take the whole semester to complete, and requires the groups to develop solutions they can pitch to their client at the end of the course.  The professors have stated some prior groups have done so well that they’ve received job offers from clients after completing the projects.  I’ve been selected as the leader for the MKTG 519 project, and we haven’t yet formed groups in MGMT 540.  No matter what happens though, I’m very excited to begin working on these consulting projects.  I’ve looked forward to putting my skills into practice ever since attending my initial CSUF MBA information session, and want to prove that I’m ready to start making a contribution to the world of private business.

So I’m definitely excited about this new semester, and a little nervous too about how challenging the workload will likely be.  But, the challenge will be good for me, and I will get exposure to ideas, tools, and strategies I don’t normally get to see while working my 9-5 job.  I know things will work out, but these next 16 weeks will probably be some of the longest and busiest of my life!  I’ll be keeping you informed on my progress throughout this crazy semester, and you’ll hopefully get an accurate first-hand account of CSUF’s MBA program.

Have you started MBA classes for the new fall semester?  How do you feel about them?  Or maybe you’re still considering whether to pursue an MBA?  What do you hope to learn by earning your degree?  Share your thoughts either in the comments section below or tweet me @orangecountymba.  Looking forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

